top of page
  • Writer's picturePhil Myre

NHL! WHO'S IN & WHO'S OUT?

Updated: Dec 23, 2018


PREDICTING THE NHL PLAYOFF TEAMS

Which NHL teams have either dug their own graves or created a path to the playoffs? The Christmas break is a good time to play the game of predictions for which teams will get the chance to compete for the oldest trophy in Pro Sports: the Stanley Cup.


I use two criteria to predict who will make the playoff:

Goal-differential (DIFF) (the difference between goals for and goals against)

Road record (AWAY) of each team in the standings.

Based on my experience, teams making the playoffs have a “plus goal differential” (DIFF) AND a winning record on the road.


The St-Louis blues were an anomaly to this rule last season, as the only team out of the playoffs with a positive in both categories. It happens. They had 94 points which usually gets you in.


So, as of today, (Dec. 22rd) here’s my analysis based on this system:


EAST: Montreal is in the playoffs with a -3 DIFF. Buffalo is in with a +3. The Islanders are out of the playoffs with a +1. All three teams have a winning record on the road.


MY PREDICTION:

The last two positions will be decided among Montreal, Buffalo and the Islanders. All things being equal my tie breaker is goals against. It will be a tough race, but Montreal will miss out as they give up more goals than the other two.

Out: NYR, DET, OTT, CAR, PHI, FLA, NJD, MTL

In: WAS, TBY, TOR, PIT, CLB, BOS, BUF, ISL


WEST: My theory is being challenged so far in the West.

Anaheim with a -11 DIFF and Edmonton, a -6 DIFF are in the playoffs, so far. Minnesota is down in the standings with a +5 DIFF but owns a losing road record. Dallas sits with a -2 DIFF and a terrible road record.


MY PREDICTIOON:

The last two playoff positions will be contested by Anaheim, Edmonton, Vancouver, Dallas, and Minnesota. Again, Goals against is my tie breaker. I predict that Minnesota will make it and Anaheim will not, based on the DIFF. The last playoff position is a tough decision between Dallas, Edmonton and Vancouver. For me, it’s a tossup between Dallas and Edmonton. I’ll pick Edmonton because of their better AWAY record.

Out: CHI, STL, ARI, LAK, ANA, DAL, VAN.

In: WIN, NAS, CLG, CO, SJS, LAS, EDM, MIN


I will review my predictions at the 60-game marker. We’ll see if I dug my own grave or built a good prophetic path.

PHIL MYRE

“MAKE THIS DAY THE BEST IT CAN BE!”

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page